Mickey Thompson Performance Tires MIRock Superbike Series

By T on

August 23, 2012
for immediate release

Mickey Thompson Performance Tires MIRock Superbike Series

event: 10th annual FBR Shop Nationals
when: August 24-26, 2012
where: Rockingham Dragway in Rockingham, North Carolina, USA

Kawasaki vs. Suzuki tops Rockingham bill

When the Mickey Thompson Performance Tires MIRock Superbike Series invades Steve Earwood’s Rockingham Dragway this weekend for the 10th annual FBR Shop Nationals, it will bring a classic Kawasaki vs. Suzuki battle with it.

That conflict is full-blown in DME Real Street. Johnny “Turbo” Dobrin is thoroughly upending multi-time champ Jeremy Teasley’s grip on the class. Dobrin’s turbocharged Suzuki Hayabusa has kept Tealsey’s Roger Starrette-tuned, nitrous Kawasaki ZX14 out of the winners circle most of the year. Teasley did break back through at The Rock in June, but Dobrin took the circle back at Maryland International Raceway in July.

But just last weekend, a new player slayed Dobrin’s ‘Busa. Rickey Gadson is no new player, but his Chris Jones-built, turbo Kawasaki ZX14R just debuted at MIR in July. And last weekend, Gadson and the new bike beat Dobrin in Indianapolis.

But if you think this is only a three horse race, guess again. Before damaging his motor on the big end at Indy, New Jersey’s Ashon “Capo” Dickerson laid down what he claimed to be the best eighth mile in Real Street history. And that was without the extra inch of wheelbase just added to liter bikes like Dickerson’s nitrous Suzuki GSXR1000 by the MIRock series. Will Dickerson have a giant killer bullet back in the frame for this weekend?

Recent runner-up “Super Dave” Stewart, Mark Billiter, David Merks, Ed Murphy, Darion “Nanu” Payne and others will be giving it their all to also claim a piece of DME Real Street glory this weekend at The Rock.

Two time defending Orient Express Pro Street champion Rodney Williford took the win last time out at The Rock, but he’s had to share the deed to the winners circle a lot this year with DME Racing’s Joey Gladstone. But Teasley’s also gotten a piece of the real estate and will be fighting for more, along with Ryan Schnitz and the HTP Performance Hayabusa, Greg Wallace, Carl “Junebug” Lucas, Eric Hart, Danny Cox and more.

Ronnie Procopio’s stranglehold on the Mickey Thompson Pro Mod eighth mile class is in jeopardy, with Robbie Hunnicutt, Mac McAdams, and Mark Paquette all scoring wins along with Procopio this season. Ryan Schnitz and the HTP Performance EFI, true Hayabusa are improving every time out and also looking for a piece of that trophy action.

As the season enters its final three races, points battles take center stage in Trac King/APE Top Sportsman, FBR Shop 5.60, Brock’s Performance Street ET, and Nitrous Express Pro ET. As always, Saturday night’s Afterdark Underground grudge racing program will draw horsepower hustlers from all over the Southeast and beyond.

Although racing won’t officially begin until Saturday, the track will be open for private MIRock testing from 10 a.m. until 6 p.m. on Friday, preceding an evening test-and-tune session from 6-11 p.m.

Highlight of Saturday’s program will be pro qualifying at 1 p.m., 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. along with day-long competition in Pro ET and Street ET.  Gates open Sunday at 8 a.m. with single elimination finals beginning at 12 noon.

Adult admission is $10 Friday, $20 Saturday and $20 Sunday.  Special combo tickets also are available – $35 for Saturday and Sunday or $45 for all three days.  Kids six to 11 are $5 daily.  Those under six are free when accompanied by a ticketed adult.

Find out more about the Mickey Thompson Performance Tires MIRock Super Bike Series at http://www.mirockracing.com

This report was prepared by Tim Hailey. Enjoy everything there is to read, see and watch about motorcycle drag racing and more at http://www.eatmyink.com


High-res images for editorial use are available by e-mailing timhailey@earthlink.net


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *