AMA Pro Flat Track Slides Back to Springfield Mile

By bikersreportnewsfeeds on

By AMA

AMA Pro Flat Track Slides Back to Springfield Mile

AMA Pro Flat Track Springfield Mile Preview

The AMA Pro Flat Track Grand National Championship battle is heating up as it nears the end, and it’ll roll back to Springfield Illinois, for the second running in 2014 of the Springfield Mile on Sunday.

On-track action begins at 10:15 a.m. CT (11:15 a.m. ET, 8:15 a.m. PT) with the Pro Twins main scheduled for 3:40 p.m. CT (4:40 p.m. ET, 1:40 p.m. PT) and the Expert main is set for 4:10 p.m. CT (5:10 p.m. ET, 2:10 p.m. PT). Fans can catch all the action, live in high definition at FansChoice.tv.

Bryan Smith was the victor on the hallowed grounds back in May, and the Michigan native and pilot of the No. 42 Villa-Esparza/Crosley Radio Kawasaki enters the event with a six-point lead over Rodgers Racing’s Jared Mees in the title hunt.

Smith, who is famously comfortable on longer tracks, is coming off a win at the circuit’s longest stretch, the 1.25-mile Virginia Mega Mile. But in May, he needed every ounce of speed out of his Kawasaki, as he won by just .041 seconds over Kenny Coolbeth. Mees was third, just .153 seconds behind Smith.

Coolbeth, who is fourth in points with 171, has shown speed all season, and would be firmly entrenched in the title hunt if not for a little bad luck and lackluster showings in the season’s two TT events. The pilot of the No. 2 Zanotti Racing Harley-Davidson even has a win on a mile track, taking the checkered flag at the Indy Mile. Coolbeth also owns three Springfield victories.

Jake Johnson has been the model of consistency this year, standing on the podium six times to keep the title within grasp. The Ramspur Winery rider has also found speed on four different bikes this year, including the Kawasaki he rode to …read more

Source: AMA Pro Flat Track Slides Back to Springfield Mile

    

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *